Earth Day Book Talk

When I do a class visit to share books, I try to find a theme and tie the books together in some way that makes for a flow from one to the next. Transitions are important to hold attention. So while I’ve posted individual book talks for this presentation for the past couple of weeks, here is how they all fit together.

The Watcher: Jane Goodall's Life with the Chimps I want to start by sharing The Watcher, a picture book biography of Jean Goodall, as it emphasizes the way that even as children we can watch and learn about the world around us.

A Life in the Wild: George Schaller's Struggle to Save the Last Great Beasts After starting with the idea that observing nature is an important way to learn about the world, I’ll share A Life in the Wild, which will allow me to tell students about how wilderness conservation changed when scientists began to observe and study nature.

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda Next, I’ll share The Strange Case of Origami Yoda, which is the case study a bunch of kids did of a phenomena they noticed in school.

Kakapo Rescue: Saving the World's Strangest Parrot (Scientists in the Field Series) Featuring another strange creature, I’ll move from Yoda to Kakapo Rescue: Saving the World’s Strangest Parrot, which continues the importance of observing the world around us as well as being very interesting.

Hoot (Newbery Honor Book) The next book is also about a rescue attempt, but of who? A runaway boy, a bird living in the ground? In Hoot , there are a number of mysteries to solve.

I’ll conclude with Crunch, which also has mysteries and encourages kids to keep watching the world around them.

Since this is ready, I’m turning my attention to Summer Reading titles, so I can promote our programs and share books at the programs. Stay tuned!

One response to “Earth Day Book Talk

  1. Thanks for participating in Book Talk Tuesday! What a fun way to group these books together- lots of work on your part!
    Kelly

Leave a comment