Sad Days, Silly Days, Sorry Days–A Picture Book Round up on Emotions.

For the first time in a LONG time, I found myself doing Toddler Storytime. My assistant went out of town and our substitute would only come if she could do Preschool Storytime. So I said bring it on! Well besides having groups ranging from 35-40 instead of 17-30, less interaction, and more running around it was only completely different. Ok, so it is a different skill set for toddler storytime, but I still enjoyed it. I think Preschool is preferred around her because it is easier to see the audience interacting and absorbing the theme, but Toddler Storytime is still super important. I do really believe that kids learn a lot from attending and participating with their caregivers.

So this week the theme was Boo-Hoo, which I actually thought might be sick stories, but was really stories about emotions. I think that is a really good theme with a bad/unclear name. Kids need to learn to describe what they are feeling, because only that way can they learn to communicate what they need. We’ve all seen the kid who is consumed with some emotion he can’t quite get out in words or even understand. So this is a good theme. I might have avoided focusing just on sadness, but still emotions are important.

Here are some books for preschoolers and toddlers on emotions:
What Shall We Do with the Boo-hoo Baby? What Shall We Do with The Boo-Hoo Baby Cressida Cowell, very cute, very simple story of a baby who cries and will not relent. Good for toddlers.

Hurty Feelings Hurty Feelings, Helen Lester, Some of us are super sensitive, even if we are hippos.

Grumpy Bird Grumpy Bird Jeremy Tankard, How can the day turn around, when you wake up grumpy?

How Are You Peeling?: Foods with Moods How Are You Peeling? Saxton Freymann, Joost Elffers. Fruit and veggies that are creatively shaped to express emotions.

That Makes Me Mad! That Makes Me Mad, Steven Kroll. What makes kids mad? Lots of things.

Sometimes I'm Bombaloo (bkshelf) (Scholastic Bookshelf) Sometimes I Feel Bombaloo, Rachel Vail. When you are little, sometimes your emotions are hard to explain.

Don't Worry Bear Don’t Worry Bear Greg Foley. Some kids worry about a lot of things, how to express this and deal with it are important topics.

The Pout-Pout Fish The Pout-Pout Fish, Deborah Diesen. What can cheer up a fish that is sad?

Ready for Anything! Ready for Anything, Keiko Kasza, A picnic would be fun, but there are so many things that could go wrong, can they stop worrying long enough to have fun?

Mouse Was Mad Mouse Was Mad Linda Urban. Sometimes you can’t do ANYTHING right, not even be mad!

The Way I Feel The Way I Feel Janan Cain. Bright colorful pictures cover many different emotions, silly and jealousy, disappointment and sadness.

When Sophie Gets Angry -- Really, Really Angry When Sophie Gets Angry—Really, Really Angry… Molly Bang.

What Baby Wants What Baby Wants, Phyllis Root. Mom takes a nap, while leaving baby with the family. They can’t get poor baby to stop crying, even though they try a whole lot of things.

My Many Colored Days My Many Colored Days Dr. Seuss, Some days we feel different things.

We did “If you’re happy and you know it!” along with sad, mad, excited. If it were preschool I’d do more emotions, but the toddlers liked the simple ones. In addition I used pictures of different kids showing different emotions to see if kids could identify them. We used the shakers to shake out different emotions–happy shakes, excited shakes, angry shakes, tired shakes. And we danced!

If I’d done the preschool storytime, I’d’ve done a creative dramatic of What Baby Wants, with a doll and different things to offer to calm baby down. All the kids in the audience make the crying noises, and some kids offer the gifts.

For a craft we drew pictures of our emotions on a bear face. I’ve also done in the past a many colored days craft, where children glue tissue paper on cut out shapes glued on Popsicle sticks, to show their emotions.

4 responses to “Sad Days, Silly Days, Sorry Days–A Picture Book Round up on Emotions.

  1. What a great list. And thanks for including The Pout-Pout Fish on it!

    Best Fishes,
    Debbie Diesen (author of The Pout-Pout Fish)

  2. Thanks so much for the wonderful list–I’m always looking for ideas for Toddler Story Times. Yours will help me make mine even better than before.

  3. Great list!! And oh my oh my on Hurty Feelings, love it, I do.

  4. Whoa…that’s a lot of Deb’s commenting, lol!

Leave a Reply

