Audio Book Book Talk

As I’ve mentioned before, audio books are SUPER popular at my branch, so we are asked on a regular basis to recommend good titles for kids, teens, and adults. There is a fair amount of crossover, with a lot of adults listening to teen and children’s titles. Unfortunately, I’m not much of an audio book listener, generally they are too slow for me, and I either tune out the book or whatever else I’m doing (something that can be particularly dangerous when driving). Most of our patrons, however, are satisfied with good story recommendations, even if I can’t tell them much about the narrators.

Recently, I visited a middle school and took a handful of audio books to book talk. It was a resource class and the teacher had told me that she was trying to promote different ways of accessing stories.

Stuck in Neutral Stuck in Neutral, Terry Trueman. This is a powerful book, and an easy on to book talk. Can you imagine if you thought your father was going to kill you, but you had no way of communicating with anyone to tell them your suspicions, or anything else!

Hoot Hoot, Carl Hiaasen. I actually listened to this one, and I thought it really brought the different characters to life. My five second book talk is, new kid in town, notices a mysterious loner running away from the bus, starts an investigation of pranks, and finds more and more mysteries.

The Graveyard Book The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman. This is another book I listened to, and it is a fantastic listen–it has Bela Fleck on banjo and it is narrated by the author. The story is also awesome–toddler escape’s his family’s murder and is raised in a spooky old graveyard by an eccentric mix of ghosts.

The City of Ember (The Ember Series, #1) The City of Ember, Jeanne DuPrau. Lots of kids have seen the movie or read the book, but I figured if this class was made up of kids who didn’t like to read, they might not have. In a world that is dark, the electricity is running out, as well as a lot of other things–how can you survive in a world where everything is falling apart.

Booktalk Tuesday is hosted by Lemme Library, head on over to check out the other book talks and reviews.

Leave a Reply

