What to Expect When You’re Expecting Larvae

What to Expect When You're Expecting Larvae: A Guide for Insect Parents (And Curious Kids) (Expecting Animal Babies) There is something about this title that just reaches out and grabs attention. I added it to my good reads to be read stream and had coworkers outside of children’s services ask me what was up with that title. So I was excited to find it available on Netgalley!

The book starts after the eggs have already been fertilized, which makes it a bit more PG (no insect sex here, the dads leave before the fun begins). The book then poses questions familiar to expectant parents, though I think that it will still be funny for kids, especially those who have had younger siblings they’ve wondered about.

While there is some good information here, this is primarily entertaining and humorous. I could see a teacher using this to introduce an insect theme or a kid reading it for fun. The fun continues with the glossary, which defines the terms, but adds things like “food” or “dinner” to the end of a more technical definition of algae. There is also a great list of further resources, that doesn’t just list books to read, but tells kids a little of what they are about.

Overall a fun book that I will be buying for my library, as I think it will provide entertainment and education for kids.

Leave a Reply

