Funny Ha-Ha: A Picture Book Round Up

In light of my last week’s post about planning ahead, I thought I’d start rounding up my favorite funny picture books for this week’s storytime. My problem with this theme is that there are SO many funny picture books that I like. It did help to have the books all pulled together before, but I did struggle with fingerplays and stuff to go along with it. We ended up doing “if you’re happy and you know it” and shaking our sillies out.

Humor is a relative thing, especially for little kids. Here are some funny (to me) picture books, some of which I shared in storytime this week:

Bark, George Bark George, Jules Feiffer. One of my favorite books to read aloud–I get the whole group to help tell the story.

What Will Fat Cat Sit On? What will Fat Cat Sit on?, Jan Thomas. Another favorite story, funny and fun to read.

Pigs to the Rescue Pigs to the Rescue, John Himmelman. Funny things happen when pigs try to help out around the farm.

Green Wilma (Puffin Pied Piper) Green Wilma, Tedd Arnold. What would happen if you woke up and you were a frog or went to sleep a girl and woke up a frog?

Chicken Big Chicken Big, Keith Graves. Hilarious story of an enormous chick, who is mistaken for a whole bunch of things. The kids really got into this one.

Chicken Cheeks Chicken Cheeks , Michael Ian Black. Very funny, and helps kids learn funny new vocabulary words.

Let's Count Goats! Let’s Count Goats, Mem Fox, Goats are silly, and the words and Jan Thomas’ illustrations are awesome.

My Lucky Day My Lucky Day, Keiko Kasza. When a pig shows up on a fox’s door step, it is someone’s lucky day, but whose?

Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothes, Judi Barret. I brought a bear in a wig and scarf to point out the humor of animals in clothes.

Children Make Terrible Pets Children Make Terrible Pets, Peter Brown, a bear finds a child in the woods and wants to keep it, humor ensues.

Interrupting Chicken Interrupting Chicken, David Ezra Stein. Very funny chicken, the kids can all relate.

My Cat, the Silliest Cat in the World My Cat, the Silliest Cat in the World Gilles Bachelet, Silly story, for cat lovers.

Dog BreathDog Breath, Dav Pilkey, funny story for dog lovers.

Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type Click, Clack Moo: Cows that Type, Doreen Cronin. Really funny, but most of the kids have heard it dozens of times.

A Girl and Her Gator A Girl and Her Gator Sean Bryan. This is a seriously underrated book, it is good for phonological awareness, plus it is funny. I’ve read it numerous times with a gator on my head.

I’d love to hear about other funny storytime staples, so please share!

Leave a Reply

