Moving and Grooving, a Picture Book Round-Up!

Though I have no rhythm or grace, I still like to dance my heart out in storytime at least twice a week. I once had a staff member who would watch me and laugh at me, which bothered me, but generally I don’t mind kids and parents watching me, especially because I want them all to join in. This week we not only did our normal dancing, but read stories about dancing, and even did a dancing finger play. It was a celebration of dancing!

So here are some books to get you moving. I didn’t use them all, some were checked out, and some I didn’t think of in time.

Frank Was a Monster Who Wanted to Dance Frank Was a Monster Who Wanted to Dance, Keith Graves. A little gross, but fun!

Hop Jump Hop Jump, Ellen Stoll Walsh. Moving like leaves twirling through the air the frogs learn to dance!

Harriet Dancing Harriet Dancing, Ruth Symes. Dancing is for everyone, no matter the size!

Down by the Cool of the Pool Down by the Cool of the Pool, Tony Mitton. All the animals dance around until they jump in the pool!

Barn Dance! (Reading Rainbow) Barn Dance, Bill Martin. Late at night the animals on the farm get grooving!

Saturday Night at the Dinosaur Stomp Saturday Night at the Dinosaur Stomp, Carol Diggory Shields. I like this one, but you have to really practice the dinosaur names or it will trip you up, and some kid will interrupt to insist it be said right and give you the whole history of dinosaurs. Don’t say you weren’t warned.

And, while not dancing per se, Doreen Cronin’s movement books are great:
Wiggle (Bccb Blue Ribbon Picture Book Awards (Awards))

Bounce

We paired our books with egg shakers and new wrist streamers to dance the hokey pokey and do free form dancing how ever the kids wanted. In addition, we danced our fingers around.

2 responses to “Moving and Grooving, a Picture Book Round-Up!

  1. we must be on the same page. I was thinking of doing a dance/music making storytime in a few weeks and was trying to think of books.

    Thanks for the help 🙂

  2. you should write on http://zapatopi.net/treeoctopus/ save the tree octopi

Leave a Reply

