Dr. Seuss Celebrations, Part 1

It was Dr. Seuss’s birthday last week, and we went all out to celebrate one of our favorite authors. Not only did we host 2 second grade classes to present stories, activities, and crafts, but we held a party, and are continuing our festivities by going to a Spanish immersion program (my assistant is the Spanish speaking one, she is actually the one doing that program).

Our first program was a returning group of 2nd graders, the same students who came to learn about Shakespeare last month. The teacher left the topic up to me, and I was going to share books from the county reading program. When the teacher heard about our Seuss program, however, she requested I share Seuss with her students.

And To Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street I started with some stats on Seuss. There is a nice bio of him here. I especially liked the information about And To Think that I Saw it on Mulberry Street my favorite Seuss book. It was his first book, and received 27 rejections before it found a publisher. Seuss based the scenes in the book on streets from his childhood home, even the name of the street is a real place in Springfield Massachusetts. After reading the book we worked to create a story together. All of the students walked down the block from their street, so we started
“As I walked to the library today, I saw a ______________. It couldn’t be a _________________. No, no. What I really saw was _________________________________________________ _________________________________________________ _________________________________________________. And to think that I saw it all on the walk to the library!”

I encouraged the students to help me build on what they saw to create a story of their own.

My Many Colored Days After that, we talked about how the things we could have seen made us feel. Then I introduced one of Dr. Seuss’ last books My Many Colored Days, which we read and then wrapped up with a quick craft. I had wooden stick people and tissue paper. The kids could color the stick to represent their emotions.

I’ll post more about the other programs later!

Leave a Reply

