Library Wiki

For my Foundations of Library Science class, we were required to contribute to a class wiki using PBwiki. It was a great experience, and I hope that I can use wiki (or wikis if that is the plural) in my library career. Some of the library wiki I viewed for this Learn and Play exercize were very well done. I particularly liked the wiki that was done in connection with the adult summer reading program, where people could post book reviews and discusions of books. As with all 2.0 technology, there is a great need for oversight by staff members to make sure that they stay focused on the content area and that nothing inappropriate is posted. I suppose it all depends on who is allowed to modify the wiki and who can police it!

Leave a Reply

